It’s Settled

Home Forums Polo’s Rabble It’s Settled

Viewing 28 reply threads
  • Author

The contracts are signed, the advance is in the bank; I’m now tasked with the not-so-menial task of writing the Bradt Guide to the Congos.

It’ll be fun.

ROB
      Keymaster

Next stop is that gig for the Guardian!

Congrats SRR

Lee Ridley
      Keymaster

Well done SRR,

In many ways I envy you, but in some ways I don’t.
      That’s going to be a huge undertaking, I imagine, taking you into some pretty uncomfortable and remote places.

Is there a deadline for completion?

Yup, I got one year. I’m off to Congo-Brazzaville at the end of the month and will be watching how the elections transpire in the DR Congo as I go around the somewhat more stable “other” Congo…. if the elections go off at all, they’ve already been delayed once.

Without going into too much detail, let’s say it’ll be interesting. I’m not a newbie to the region by any stretch though – I shouldn’t have to waste too much time fumbling about. But as they say at the BC lottery corporation – hey, you never know!

Lee Ridley
      Keymaster

You got any plans to go and meet the Mai Mai at all?

I met them back in 2003 – nobody cared by the way. So no, not really.

Unless they’re running bus tours throughout northeast Katanga.

Stiv

Congrats!

I want an autographed copy and by that I mean one with a .45 round right through the middle.

Best,
      Stiv

Excelent.Good on you SRR.

Ill look forward to reading it.Make sure you include a “where to pick up good Poonani”

Lee Ridley
      Keymaster

In Congo?

You lunatic! Your bell-end would be fizzing with filovirus.

DrDave
      Participant

Congrats, make it good

I’m jealous!

Oh I should mention that there is advertising space available within the book.

Prices are quite reasonable normally, but for my close friends at Polo’s Bastards I’ll gladly only charge triple the normal price! :o

Lee Ridley
      Keymaster

Charitable to the last, SRR. :lol: